Nail Diaries: Cape Spear, Newfoundland

Yes b’y, it’s been two months since I moved to Newfoundland.  I fully admit, it has been quite an adjustment (“What do you mean there’s no T&T equivalent here?  Where am I supposed to buy FOOD?!”), this CFA (Come From Away) has been slowly exploring and getting to know Canada’s Easternmost province.

I have to say, Newfoundland is gorgeous (…in the summer).  I’m still getting used to the fact that we can drive 10-15 minutes out of the city and find ourselves surrounded by stunning views of the ocean (with whales!), cliffs, and forests.  It’s all so beautiful, I’ve actually been motivated to go out hiking on several occasions (if you know me at all, you know this is a big deal.  Physical activity has never been my friend.).  I’M EVEN BUYING HIKING BOOTS (alright, the shopaholic in me would probably push me to do this even without the hiking, but be impressed anyway).

One of my recent hiking expeditions took me to Cape Spear, the Easternmost point of Canada AND North America.  How cool is that?

IMG_0337 (2)

And while it was neat to learn more about Newfoundland’s history and tour the lighthouse, I probably could have spent hours just admiring the pretty views of the ocean (and watching the whales that were just off the coast).

IMG_5400 (2)

IMG_5394

Suffice to say, I was inspired to paint my nails after this excursion.  So I present to you my Cape Spear-inspired manicure:

IMG_5511

The polishes:

IMG_5506

The technique, like Meg’s previous Scottish Highlands nails, involved a lot of dabbing and blobbing with tiny brushes and tiny sponges until things looked right.  But here are the rough steps:

1) Paint a base layer of light blue.
2) Blob on some green at the bottom of each nail for grass.
3) Take a tiny brush and fill in the middle part of each nail with darker blue for water.
4) Use the tiny brush to add random blobs of grey onto the green to look like rocks.
5) Use a combination of sponge and tiny brush to add some white clouds into the sky.
6) Use a dotting tool to add in purple flowers at random.
7) With a steady hand, use the tiny brush to carefully paint in a lighthouse.
(8) Work out the kinks in your neck, and watch TV until everything is completely dry.)

IMG_5504

There you have it!  Until next time!
– Ry

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

