Nail Diaries: A Social Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day!

This year, as an early Mother’s Day present, I took my mum to see The Social, live.  For those who aren’t familiar with the program, it focuses on pop-culture and lifestyle topics, and is co-hosted by four admirable ladies of varying expertise: Melissa Grelo, Lainey Lui, Cynthia Loyst, and Marci Ien.

We had a wonderful (albeit exhausting) time cheering and applauding the afternoon away.  As a group of just over 40, providing the thunderous soundtrack that you hear on-air takes some serious energy.  We were slightly gutted to learn that two of the four regular co-hosts were out sick that day, including my mum’s favourite, Melissa. In any case, I couldn’t have been more delighted to meet Lainey, whose opinions and personality I agree with and relate to the most.  And the fact that Melissa and Marci weren’t there simply gives us a incontestable reason to have to go back, right?  Right.

For the occasion, I did as I promised I would do in last year’s Mother’s Day post; I gave my mum a little nail pamper session the night before the show.  While she didn’t have the time for intricate rose nail art, she gladly sported a muted rose colour on her fingers and toes (of which I have no photos because I’m terrible at this).

Unsurprisingly, I, on the other hand, had no issues sacrificing a little (read: a fair amount of) sleep to create a design inspired by The Social’s logo:

The polishes:

  • Revlon‘s Socialite (525) (a funny coincidence, I swear)
  • Orly‘s Softest White (42002)

All in all, I’m thinking maybe we’ll make this an annual thing, if possible.  I mean The Social thing, not the mani-pedi thing.  I assure you I have every intention of pampering my mother with a mani-pedi session more than once a year, geographical whereabouts permitting.

It goes without saying, but to all of the mothers out there, I hope you had a relaxing, self-indulgent day.  And try to remember that all of your children’s bickering and general shittiness is just a form of endearment in disguise…or at least tell yourself that.

’til next time,

Meg ❤

Leave a Reply

