Nail Diaries: Moving to Newfoundland!

GUYS, I MATCHED!!!

(Woo!  Okay, now that that’s off my chest, I’ll clarify for those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about.)

They don’t warn you, but as soon as you start your final year of medical school and the Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS) application opens on September 1st, it takes over your entire life for months.  From reference letters, to personal statements, to interview preparation, to the CaRMS tour and rank order lists, this year has been a blur of stress and anxiety and exhaustion.  And it all culminated in a single day last Wednesday on  Match Day.  On March 1st, along with my fellow final-year medical students across the country, I logged into my CaRMS account to learn 1) if I had successfully matched to a residency program at all, and 2) where I would be spending the next 5 years of my life.

I repeat:  GUYS, I MATCHED!!!

Where, you ask?

To St. John’s, Newfoundland.  The land of super cute colourful houses…and other things, but the jellybean houses are relevant to this post, because in typical MegRyann fashion, I painted my nails to celebrate my match.

image4-3

The polishes
Houses:

  • Blue: Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Brisk Blue (430)
  • Green: Coco & Lulu Riviera (992)
  • Pink:  Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Sonic Boom (260)
  • Yellow: Sally Hansen Xtreme wear Mellow Yellow (360)

Newfoundland flag:

  • White: Julep Dana (4231)
  • Red: Butter London Pillar Box Red
  • Blue:  NYC Skin Tight Denim Creme (115A)
  • Yellow:  Sally Hansen Xtreme wear Mellow Yellow (360)

image1-5-1

That’s all for now!

Until next time,
– Ry

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pinnatifid says:

    Congratulations! Also, your nail is adorable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

