Nail Diaries: Irish Birthday Giraffe Print

I know, that title makes little sense.  But trust me, there’s a simple explanation.  You see, my birthday’s just around the corner, and I can’t help but feel a tad nostalgic over last year’s festivities in Ireland.  So I’m going to cheat a bit here, and throw in an excerpt from post I started to write, but never quite finished.


Ireland’s Call

Essay meltdowns and lost articles aside, Dublin was as magical a place to ring in my 22nd birthday as I could have hoped for.  You see, having an unhealthy obsession with Nora Roberts books means that Ry and I have grown up immersed in her Ireland-set worlds full of fantastic creatures and mystical beings.  Now, while we’re aware that they’re fictional stories, we never quite managed to break the association of Ireland with the magic realism that she paints.  All of this to say that my expectations for Ireland were truly unrealistic.

And while I never crossed paths with a leprechaun or unicorn, my time in Dublin was fantastic.  I’ll spare you the trouble of reading an 1000-word essay on why I loved it there so much, and boil things down to a list:

  1. My bestie, Emma, flew in from the Netherlands to spend the weekend with me.
    1. a) She gifted me a Marc Jacobs perfume on top of jetting across the continent because her generosity drives her to insanity.
  2. The second we left the airport, we experienced the heartwarming kindness of the Irish.  From understanding bus drivers to observant and concerned locals on the streets, the Irish had our backs. (Read: we didn’t know how public transit worked, and we couldn’t find our accommodations, but all turned out just fine…)
  3. The Dublin Zoo is wonderful.  Particularly when you’re looking for somewhere relatively tranquil and not too crowded to visit.  I honestly haven’t a clue how we ended up at the Zoo, but it was a perfect choice for us.  Emma has a not-so-secret obsession with giraffes, and we spent a splendid 20-ish minutes watching the adorably awkward creatures gallivant around.
  4. I have a thing for live music (likely a result of 10+ years of piano lessons combined with choir-singing), and Dublin pubs had that crap pouring out of their doors.  Plus, Emma managed to get a pub full of people to sing me Happy Birthday, so there’s that…
  5. Trinity College.  Need I say more?

[…]


Long story short, my 22nd birthday was memorable.  So to remember those three blissful days in Dublin, here’s a giraffe print nail design:

Giraffe_nails_03

The polishes:

  • Essie‘s fierce, no fear (1070)
  • Butter London‘s Looker

giraffe_nails_02

And a closer look:

giraffe_nails_01

Alright, time to go play Taylor Swift’s 22 over and over again while I’m still 22…

Thanks for reading!

’til next time,

Meg ❤

P.S. Emma, this is for you, obviously.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

