Knick-Knacks: Writing Prompts for the Creative Scribe

During my semester abroad, I enrolled in a Creativity module.  With a course summary far from the typical university class’, I was naturally intrigued.  How does one even go about dissecting and studying creativity? As it turns out, it’s easily done, just rarely so.  Now, I could blame this on society’s flawed hierarchy of disciplines and subjects that’s based largely on monetary value and “intellect”, but that would quickly become both bitchy and boring.  So I’ll keep that to myself and simply assert that creativity is something to be studied and valued.  Are you currently questioning that assertion and my credibility?  Well, surely Sir Ken Robinson can persuade you with his record-breaking TED Talk, “Do schools kill creativity?”:

Did that do the trick?  Are you convinced?  You should be.  Hence, creativity ought to be regularly encouraged, harnessed, and practiced.

Accordingly, part of our module’s teachings was to incorporate creativity into our daily routines.  This goes beyond the quintessential creative arts like drawing, acting, and more.  Our inspiring professor David Gauntlett urged us to consider creativity at its core as “the process of having original ideas that have value.”  He encouraged us to think, do, make, and create unreservedly.  To turn our passion into creation.  Which leads me to “Writing Prompts for the Creative Scribe”.

IMG_6512

I stumbled upon this journal while shopping around London.  In essence, every other page contains a writing prompt that aims to get you writing.  I had seen similar items, but had never been motivated to purchase them let alone actually write in them.  Apparently twelve lectures on the importance of creativity changed all of that.  So here I am with a minimally used journal.

IMG_6513

The problem: I can hardly read my writing, and find that my mind thinks much too quickly for my hand. (Read: my penmanship is terrible and I’m lazy.)

The solution: type out my entries and post them on the blog because I’m part of the impatient, instantly gratified Generation Y and must overshare online.


The first of hopefully many entries to come:

Open a book a read any one sentence.  Write about it.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Riana.Autumn says:

    I love this! I want one of these 🙂

    Like

  2. Joell says:

    please could you supply a barcode or more information about this journal because i cannot find it anywhere, please. Thanks
    😦

    Like

    1. megryann says:

      Hi Joell! The journal’s by a brand called Èccolo. They have a website: http://www.eccololtd.com. Hope that helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

