Nail Diaries: Mother’s Day

Among other things (innate stubbornness, the compelling need to always be right, an unhealthy love for all things pastry-like to name a few), my mother and I share a rather unfounded obsession with roses.  It’s not like we’re in love with the actual flower itself (mind you I doubt either of us would say no to a dozen or two), we simply love rose-scented things.  We’ve even taken to adding rosewater to our tea…too weird?  I hope not…

So, because I’m not home to physically give Mother-Dearest a typical bouquet of flowers, here’s my special version:

IMG_5546

The polishes in order of application:

IMG_5556

  1. Barry M‘s Sunset Daylight Curing in Do You Pink I’m Sexy? (541) (Who names this stuff?)
  2. Barry M‘s Sunset Daylight Curing Topcoat (540)
  3. Julep‘s Janel Bombshell (4225)
  4. Barry M‘s Gelly Hi Shine in Black Pistachio (534)
  5. Barry M‘s Speedy Quick Dry in Pole Position (507)

And because the flower painting was somewhat unusual, allow me to waffle on about the specifics.  I scoured my local area for a tiny brush to no avail.  I tried using the dotting tool, a bobby pin, a toothpick, all with no success.  Finally, I tried something rather unconventional.  Meet my tiny nail brush replacement: the Real Techniques Silicone Liner Brush.

IMG_5570

Yes, technically this tool is intended for gel eyeliner, but a little repurposing never hurt, right?  You know how sometimes a regular brush can absorb all of the polish before you make even a single stroke?  Well, the upside to silicone is you’ll never encounter that problem; it absorbs zilch.  Like, nothing.  This made combining colours without truly mixing them together significantly easier, if you know what I mean.

IMG_5564

Obligatory close-up:

IMG_5555

Back to the point on hand, to all the mothers out there, happy Mother’s Day!  And to my mother, godmother, and grandmothers, sorry I’m not there to spoil and pamper you lot, but shall we pretend that I gave you all a manicure as opposed to giving myself one?

’til next time,

Meg ❤
Follow our blog with Bloglovin

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

