Nail Diaries: Kiko’s Multi-Effect Nail Polish

So this post was supposed to go up on Tuesday, as per usual, except I intelligently scheduled it for November 17, 2016 because apparently I’m a little too eager for the new year to come around.  But I promise you, it’s with good reason.  You see, come January, I get the amazing opportunity to study abroad in England!  How cool is that?  Needless to say, I am beyond excited to experience a new curriculum, culture, and the many things that come with living for an extended period of time in a different country.  One of those things is definitely the British beauty industry.  I cannot wait to have easy access to all of the amazing brands that my favourite youtubers and bloggers are constantly raving about, one brand being Barry M (mentioned in our Reds Friday Five post).  And remember the bestie who went through a great deal of hassle to give me that Barry M polish?  Well, she also introduced me to another European brand, Kiko, a few years ago.  I won’t pretend to know much about it, but I have heard that it’s terribly underrated.  In any case, here’s the little beauty that has me all excited to test out other Kiko products:

IMG_4778

As you can probably tell, it’s a dual-ended nail polish, one end being the “full colour”, the other a “glossy colour” that is applied on top.  Funnily enough, I don’t think Kiko makes this kind of polish anymore, but I just had to show you how gorgeous it is.

 

IMG_4782

Do you see how perfectly blue that colour is? It reminds me so much of being back in grade school learning about the colour wheel.  That right there is a pure primary blue, folks.

IMG_4777

Now once you apply the glossy top coat, the colour changes drastically (hence, I confess to having skipped the second polish entirely on occasion).  True to its name, adding that second glossy colour gives a “multi-effect” look.

IMG_4781IMG_4780

I think the fact that the two colours are so clearly different makes for that almost holographic sheen.  Put simply, it’s pretty darn cool.  My only complaint is that it is an absolute nuisance to deal with a dual-ended product where the polishes don’t detach completely from the centre adjoining piece.  Controlling a brush that’s essentially attached to another bottle is no easy task.  Mind you, it doesn’t really matter now that the product isn’t being offered anymore.  Anywho, I really do love this polish, and I am beside myself with anticipation of all that awaits me in England.  On that note, let me know if there’s anything that I have to try while I’m there!  Thanks for reading!

’til next time,

Meg ❤

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

