Nail Diaries: The Little Mermaid

A few months ago, I admitted that Cinderella was my favourite Disney princess, and created a Cinderella-inspired nail look.  But remember when I also added that my inner-feminist was rather disappointed in my choice of a painfully passive princess?  Well, this leads me to reveal my other favourite Disney princess: The Little Mermaid.  As far as proactive, butt-kicking princesses go, Ariel is pretty high up there in my books.  Throw in hair that looks flawless even when drenched, and the voice of an angel (because yes, Jodi Benson is an angel), what’s not to love?  And so, in the spirit of Halloween (as I’m not typically one to get all dolled up for the occasion), I’ve dressed up my nails as Ariel!

As always, this is a very minimalistic look, which makes me wonder if we should change the name of this blog to Minimalists MegRyann (I’m half kidding…).  But seriously, this is a fairly simple design despite how many steps it took to achieve.

IMG_4575

Now, apparently the goal for this look was to see how many different polishes I could use…six if you were counting.

IMG_4622

Here they are in order of how I applied them:

1. Sally Hansen’s Royal Blush (230)

IMG_4590

2. Essie’s jump in my jumpsuit (1097)

IMG_4647

3. NYC’s Nolita’s Lavender (265)

IMG_4644

4. Butter London’s Slapper

IMG_4641

5. Nails Inc.’s Gel Effect in Piccadilly Place

IMG_4646

6. Deborah Lippmann’s Stronger (by Kelly Clarkson)

IMG_4626

The technique: use a tiny brush for accuracy with a steady hand, and practice lots of patience.  Easier said than done, right?  No worries, you can do it.  I believe in you!

IMG_4639

But there you go, the Little Mermaid Ariel in nail form!

And here’s a few cheeky photos for your entertainment (or maybe just mine…):

IMG_4637

IMG_4690

Happy Halloween everyone!

’til next time,

Meg ❤

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Stephanie says:

    This is so beautiful! Really, really creative. I would definitely need to practice to get to your level of artistry, but for now I’m happy just admiring the pictures. And I love the Ariel doll at the end! This post has just made my day haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. megryann says:

      Thank you so much! And you’d be surprised how much a tiny paint brush can help; it works wonders!

      Like

Leave a Reply

