Gel Copycats: Nails Inc. Gel Effect Update

And we’re back! Sorry for the delay! This post was supposed to go up a few days ago, but my SD card decided to play hide-and-seek with me… Anyhow, once again, I’ve documented the lasting power (or lack thereof) of a gel-inspired polish, Nails Inc.’s Gel Effect in The Boltons.

Day 1:

IMG_4154

Glossy, ‘plump’, and pretty.

Day 2:

IMG_4159

Two days in, and my thumb nail was already chipped.  At first, I chalked it up to leftover oils on my nail or poor application, but…

(Day 3: I intelligently didn’t remember to snap a photo until the only light coming from outside was a dull street lamp…my mistake.)

Day 4:

IMG_4175

Ladies (and gentlemen), we have some serious chippage going on here.  On the up side, everything’s still fairly shiny…

Day 5:

IMG_4177

This just went from chipped to more chipped and dry. My nails and cuticles are normally fairly resilient.  It usually takes a week or more for any crackly damage to appear.  Apparently, Nails Inc. Gel Effect exacerbates the drying.

Day 6:

IMG_4180

Nope. Just nope.


Final Thoughts:

Everything started out so well; it applied beautifully in one coat, and gave that gorgeous ‘gel effect’. However, things went downhill pretty darn quickly from there.  Even though the shine lasted past the first few days, the polish itself was flying off much faster than expected.

Final Verdict:

If you’re looking for a one-night affair kind of polish, this is your guy.  But if you’re more interested in finding a real, long-lasting, gel copycat, move along now.


’til next time,

Meg ❤

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on helenofmanchester and commented:
    I have had the exact same experience with the same shade.

    Not that great I’m afraid.

    I applied it on Monday and its come away on the tip and the base of my nails!

    #nightmare

    Like

  2. Great review. My nails are even worse than your day 5 picture! Had the same shade on dince Monday night. Its all come off around the top edge and tound the base!

    http://Www.helenofmanchester.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

