Spring Throwback (Nicole by OPI Roughles)

Just over a year ago, Nicole by OPI released a new but not entirely innovative product: textured nail polish.  Not textured as in shattered, but like full-on 3D textured.  In my mind, the best way to describe it would be a sandpaper-esque, which I guess does make it kind of different from everything else out there.  Specks of coloured granules within the actual polish create a rough surface, hence the name.  Honestly, it reminds me a lot of a half-eaten sweet tart candy… And now I’ll spare your brains and stop trying to describe it to you.  Let’s stick to the “a picture’s worth a thousand words” theory, shall we?

I’m stucco on you (#452):

I'm stucco on you collage

On what grounds? (#453):

On what grounds collage

Rock the look (#454):

Rock the look collage

Now, even though it’s been a while since this collection was released, I can’t help but feel that it will always be my go-to spring line.  You see, usually I’m one of those people who obsesses over making every coat of polish that goes on to my nails as smooth and sleek as possible.  You don’t even want to know how many times my perfectionist side has caused me to pull out the nail polish remover and start all over again.  The great thing about the Roughles polishes is that you don’t have to worry about smoothness at all!  You can literally pile on 3 coats within a minute of each other and none will be the wiser.  Plus, the colours just scream spring and Easter (hence the random egg photos) in all their pastel-y, bright-but-not-too-bright goodness.

I should mention that there is a fourth colour, Sand in my shoe (#451), a muted yellow with red speckles.  However, we’ve learned the hard way that yellow polishes next to skin with yellow undertones is usually a bad mix.

On a sad note, this line was limited edition.  Having said that, if I were you and I happened to stumble across a bottle of RoughlesI’d hop at the chance to add it to my collection. (Get it? Terribly unfunny, I know…sorry…)

Happy spring everyone!

’til next time,

Meg ❤

Leave a Reply

