Love Your Nails: barely there professional nails

This is a little something different from what we’ve posted before, but I think it’s important to share your thoughts…or at least find a healthy outlet for them.  So bear with me as I navigate through the unfamiliar territory of editorial-esque writing.

I recently went to one of my first school networking events in which industry professionals, professors, alumni, and fellow students were in attendance.  Now, prior to said event, we learned about the somewhat daunting yet crucial steps of professional introductions, pitches, calls-to-action, and more.  On top of that, we covered the more commonsensical topics such as proper handshakes, conversation manners, and appropriate dress.

Naturally, dress seemed to be the biggest concern among my fellow classmates; it’s one of the few things that is completely within your control (short of a last-minute wardrobe malfunction), and it makes up a significant part of your first impression.  But let’s stop there: first impressions.  Closer to the end of the night, I was part of a conversation that centred around the importance of footwear.  I don’t mean footwear as an essential to keeping one’s feet warm, clean, and protected, but rather in the first impressions department.  There’s a saying that goes along the lines of “you can tell a lot about a man [person] by the shoes that he [or she] wears.”  An individual sporting polished dress shoes is likely in the corporate field, a person wearing running shoes is likely active or prioritizes comfort…you get the idea.  Well, this got me thinking, what about a person’s nails?

Maybe it’s the amateur manicurist in me, but the night before, I made sure to put aside some time so that I could fix my sadly chipped Cinderella nails (What are Cinderella nails, you ask? Check out the design here).  As I rarely leave my nails bare, I took the extra twenty minutes to do a classic and professional nude design:

IMG_3777

IMG_3775

Yet the vast majority of the ladies at this event were sporting severely chipped, or outgrown nail looks.  To me, that says something about a person.  Yes, I understand that most don’t necessarily prioritize nails to the point where they redo them more than once a week, or pay to get them done on a regular basis, but it requires very little experience, money, and time to slap on a coat of clear nail polish.  What’s more, if you can go out of your way to shine your shoes, or straighten your hair, can’t you at the very least remove the remnants of your three-week old nail colour?  It takes five minutes tops, or one minute if you’ve fallen prey to this contraption:

Sephora Instant Nail Polish Remover ($12 CAN)

For the record, this is pretty much just a dense sponge soaked in nail polish remover that somehow has a lovely fragrance, curled into a bottle.  You dip in your nail, and it works like magic!  Seriously, I’m not exaggerating when I say it takes less than a minute to completely remove everything.

But I digress.

The point is, love your nails, or show them some love, because the next time you’re about to meet the up-and-coming manager, CEO, entrepreneur, or whatnot, the last thing you want him or her assuming is that your neglectful, rushed, or too downright lazy to remove the few speckles of remaining florescent pink from your nails.

’til next time,

Meg ❤

Leave a Reply

