Loot: January Topbox Beauty Subscription

Why hello there 2015!

(Warning: hang in there, ’cause this is a bit of a long one.)

So…a good half a year later, and I’ve finally gotten around to blogging about my Topbox subscription! What is Topbox, you ask?  A monthly beauty box subscription that promises to deliver 4 deluxe-sized beauty products to your door…or mailbox.  At $12 a month, you’re guaranteed to get your money’s worth.

Now, Ry oh so kindly bought the subscription for me as a half-birthday present (yes, we celebrate half-birthdays…everyone should).  From what I gathered, she was hoping to curb my shopaholic tendencies in the beauty department.  It was a nice thought…

Your Topbox usually comes packaged in a pretty tube, as seen below.  Friendly tip: if you happen to be gifting a t-shirt or something similar, it fits inside perfectly!  Re-purposing at its finest 🙂

IMG_3627

Anyhow, on to this month’s box of goodies! Like I said, you get 4 products, one of which is usually full-sized.  And each “box” comes with a master-list, detailing each product, how a full-sized version would cost, and where to buy it in Canada.

IMG_3626

1. So Susan Dual Brow Powder

IMG_3619IMG_3620

I’ve never heard of this brand before.  But this couldn’t have been timed any better.  After buying our mother the Anastasia Brow Whiz for Christmas, I’ve been itching to get my hands on a product that will even out these caterpillars.

2. Bioderma Sebium H2O Micelle Solution

IMG_3621

Alright.  So I’ve tried Bioderma‘s Sensibio version, and I can’t say that I was impressed.  I know, I know, you probably want to knock me over the head right now.  But, as a girl who uses waterproof mascara and waterproof eyeliner on a daily basis, micellar cleansing waters have never worked for me.  Combine that with the pretty hefty price tag, I just wasn’t a fan.  So I’ll give this guy a shot, but I don’t have high hopes.  On the bright side, I have a handful of friends who would jump at the chance to take it off my hands…

3. Elizabeth Arden Flawless Future Powered by Ceramide Moisture Cream Broad Spectrum Sunscreen SPF 30

IMG_3623

Even though we’re smack damn in the middle of winter, the sun is still spewing out its pesky UV rays.  So, although I usually rely on the SPF in my moisturizer, I’m more than happy to give this Elizabeth Arden SPF a try.

4. Eyeko Mascara Off Eye Makeup Remover Wipes

IMG_3624

I was pleasantly surprised by this addition.  A month or two ago I received a tube of Eyeko’s mascara and loved how well it lengthened and curled my lashes.  Also, I’m a total sucker for well-thought out sequencing.

Despite the joy I get from receiving a Topbox each month, I will admit that this is my penultimate box.  Ry and I have decided to start the year off by reigning in the unnecessary spending.  So, although I would certainly recommend Topbox to fellow Canadian beauty fanatics, I personally can’t justify adding more products to my overflowing collection.  But I hope this post has given you a small glimpse of what Topbox can offer 🙂

Hope 2015 is treating you all well so far!

’til next time, Meg ❤

Leave a Reply

