Product Review: Revlon’s Parfumerie Wild Violets #150

Back in 2013 (read: like a few months ago) Revlon released a line of scented nail polish. Yes, that’s right, scented.  The collection, Parfumerie, consists of 24 shades all with their own distinct scents.  I’ll admit I was intrigued by the idea, but not intrigued enough to cough up the money ($6.99 CAN, but hey, we’re starving students here).  But ‘lo and behold, I walked into my local Shoppers Drug Mart last week to find one lonely bottle for $1!  In other words, I had to buy it.

Folks, meet Wild Violets #150:

(Please excuse the angry cuticles; it’s -30°C here.)

One coat:

IMG_3292

 

Two coats:

img_3294

Clearly, the colour changed significantly with a second coat.  But I really love the consistency of this polish.  It’s smooth and slightly on the thin side, so it dried pretty darn fast.  I will say that it isn’t the longest lasting nail polish.  I forwent the top coat just to see how the product itself held up…meh.  Three days later there was some serious chipping going on, especially on my right hand (right-handed here).

But on to the juicy part: the scent.  So remember the good ol’ days when scented markers were the latest thing?  Well, this smells really similar in that you get a hint of what it should smell like (flowers) mixed with the smell of the product (nail polish).  Honestly, it’s nothing to rave about.  I was more weirded out if anything whenever my nails came close enough to my nose to smell them. (There’s a sentence I never thought I’d type.)  Now I kind of want to go back and smell all of the other shades to see if they’re any better.

All in all, I can’t complain.  For $1, practically any polish is worth it, am I right?

’til next time,

Meg ❤

P.S.  A tutorial with this shade is coming up, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

